AGRICULTURE 447

of press, radio and television services to all mass media outlets and produces and distributes over 400,000 booklets, leaflets and circulars each year. The Regional Division is made up of five regions containing 38 district offices, each staffed with agricultural representatives. The major role of this Division is the extending of educational and advisory information in agriculture, homemaking and rural development to rural residents through meetings, field days, short courses and individual contact.

Saskatchewan. The Saskatchewan Department of Agriculture is composed of three main divisions; the Production and Marketing Division, the Farm Resources Development Division and the Extension and Rural Development Division. In addition the Department includes Support Services, a Planning and Research Secretariat and a Grain Handling and

Transportation Systems Rationalization Office.

The Production and Marketing Division administers 27 Acts and Regulations designed to improve production, handling, processing and marketing of specific agricultural commodities for the benefit of producers and consumers. It includes the following branches: Plant Industry, Animal Industry, Veterinary Services, Agricultural Engineering Services, and Marketing and Economics; and the following agencies: the Milk Control Board, Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation, Saskatchewan Hog Marketing Commission and the Saskatchewan

Sheep and Wool Marketing Commission.

The Extension and Rural Development Division is responsible for development and performance of farm units. It co-ordinates the activities of all department personnel who deal regularly with the public. The Division consists of the Regional Extension Services Branch and the Family Farm Improvement Branch. The Regional Extension Services Branch offers guidance in agricultural adjustment programs. Its work is carried out by 43 agricultural representatives stationed throughout the province and organized into six regional extension districts, each with a supporting staff of specialists. The Family Farm Improvement Branch gives farmers technical advice on farm buildings, farmstead planning, water supplies, waste disposal, mechanization and materials handling.

The FarmStart Corporation is included in the Extension and Rural Development Division. The Corporation administers a credit and grant program for persons establishing or expanding livestock production as a means of developing profitable farming operations.

The Farm Resources Development Division is primarily responsible for the development of land and water resources for agricultural use. It consists of the Lands Branch and the Conservation and Land Improvement Branch. The Division is also responsible for construction work for the Saskatchewan River Irrigation Project and for some development work for community pastures. The Lands Branch encourages consolidation of farm and ranch units where necessary to produce profitable operations; assists with transferring of units from one generation to the next; and promotes greater stability in Saskatchewan agriculture and rural communities. It also administers the limited land owned by the province, 54 provincially operated cattle pastures and five sheep pastures.

The Saskatchewan Land Bank Commission and the Agricultural Implements Board are included in the Land Resource Development Division. The Saskatchewan Land Bank Commission provides an alternative for farmers not wishing to commit themselves to an investment in land. It also provides Saskatchewan land-owners with a continuing sales opportunity for their land, enables new farmers to commence farming independent of substantial family assistance and permits farmers with insufficient land to add to their land without raising large sums of money for capital investment. Major activities of the Agricultural Implements Board include registration of implement distributors, licensing and inspection of retail vendors, and investigating complaints regarding warranties, repair parts availability and other problems.

Alberta. Activities of the Department are co-ordinated by an executive committee made up of the directors of its seven divisions, the Deputy Minister, three assistant deputy ministers and the Director of Administration. In addition, the Policy Formulation and Liaison Secretariat, through consultation with agribusiness, farm organizations, researchers, etc., advises the Department on requirements for future planning and policy.

The Marketing Division develops programs and policies that support all sectors of the marketing chain for Alberta's agricultural products. Within this Division there are four "action oriented" sections: the market development section emphasizes both export and